WSOP Player of the Year 2017 – Chris Ferguson

[SS] “Another year, another change to the World Series of Poker Player of the Year formula”, Stan the Stat complained.

[LL] “It only seems that way”, Leroy the Lion amended.

[SS] “You’re barely right, but the two-year gap between changes is actually tied for the longest since the award began in 2004.”

[RR] “And then some players will complain, and they’ll change it again”, Roderick the Rock contributed.

[SS] “Probably. Kings Casino Rozvadov, host of the 2017 World Series of Poker Europe in the Czech Republic for the first time, sponsored this year’s WSOP Player of the Year contest, so they replaced the Global Poker Index’s complex formula with their own new and fairly simple formula, making each cash worth:

	(prize/buyin)^(1/3) * (buyin)^(1/6) * 10

You know who’s not complaining? Chris Ferguson and John Racener, who broke the Las Vegas record for cashes in one World Series of Poker summer with 17.1 With the new formula possibly overweighting smaller cashes, they continued their battle across the pond into WSOP Europe, where Ferguson cashed another six times, two more than Racener. Jesus finally sealed the WSOP POY award when Racener exited on Day 2 of the WSOP Europe Main Event. Along the way, Ferguson won the 92-player €1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better for his sixth career WSOP bracelet, ending a 14-year drought.2 He still finished with the least money ($436,343) since Tom Schneider won with just $416,829 in 2007.”

2017 WSOP Player of the Year Top Ten

Rank Player Points
1 Chris Ferguson 1,178.53
2 John Racener 1,042.04
3 Ryan Hughes 994.35
4 Mike Leah 910.01
5 John Monnette 865.21
6 Kenny Hallaert 838.35
7 Alex Foxen 833.45
8 Dario Sammartino 775.89
9 Raymond Henson 768.49
10 Ben Yu 766.49

[SS] “Ferguson also closed in on the 100-cash mark with 97, leaping to fourth on the career leaderboard behind only Phil Hellmuth (130), Daniel Negreanu (103), and Erik Seidel (101).”

[LL] “Wow, he’ll be #2 by the end of next summer if Negreanu and Seidel don’t rise to the challenge!”


  1. Ferguson and Racener broke Roland Israelashvili’s year-old record of 16. Ferguson previously held the record of 8 from 2003 to 2008.
  2. As large as that 14-year gap is, it’s a decade shorter than Chip Reese’s record of 24 years and currently ranks only 7th.

Related Links:

{ The Hold ‘Em at Home blog is brought to you by THETA Poker Pro, the strongest, fastest, and most configurable Texas Hold ‘Em game for iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Apple TV. }


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Brought to you by THETA Poker Pro for iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Apple TV.